Meaningful Photo’s

joedimaggio

This picture has been imprinted into my mind ever since I was 11 years old.  The Shay’s are a baseball family and for my dad, it has been a majority of his life.  When my dad moved out and bought his own place in 2006, a six foot long portrait of this photograph has been hanging in my room.  There are three things I love about this photograph.

  1. Baseball was my first passion and always will be my number one.  I have played it my whole life, love going to games, and have collected cards my whole life.
  2. Baseball is America’s pastime, therefore the historical impact it has had on America is second to none.  History is my minor, a big part of my life, and I can honestly say this picture has influenced my love for the history of baseball.
  3. Lastly, this photo portrays arguably the greatest feat in MLB history.  In 1941, Joe DiMaggio hit safely in 56 straight games, a record that still stands today.  This accomplishment is viewed as “unbreakable” and has an incredible legacy behind it.

MLB Photos Archive

Also in my room, I have a portrait of Ernie “Mr. Cub” Banks for so many reasons.

  1. For starters, I grew up in a family of Cardinal and White Sox fans, yet somehow came out a Cubs fan.  Since he is known as Mr. Cub, it was only fitting for me to have a picture of Banks in my room.
  2. Secondly, this picture refers back to my passion for baseball history.  For those who know me, I love collecting old baseball uniforms and to own this jersey one day has been a dream of mine.
  3. Third and most importantly, Banks is my dad’s favorite player of all time.  My dad would talk about Banks in such high appraisal: honest, beloved, hard-working, and a genuine guy.  I have tried to incorporate all of those qualities for myself and I can say, Banks is my role model.
  4. Lastly, when Ernie Banks died on January 23rd, 2015, that was a very impactful day on myself and my dad.  It was on a Friday night and instead of getting ready to go out, I sat in my room and talked to my dad for awhile.  He kept saying, “the world lost not only a Hall of Famer, but a beautiful soul today.”
Leave a Reply

