Effingham, Ill. Hidden Gems

If you’ve never been through central Illinois, you’ve probably never heard of Effingham. Effingham is a town of a little over 12,500 people and home to to intersections between I-57 and I-70. At first glance, there doesn’t seem to be anything in the town except hotels, shopping and restaurants. However, if you ask a local, they can tell you where all of the town’s hidden gems are.

1378087_555865444463222_1184195826_n

Twitter: @kaitlinc1127

I am an Effingham native and have lived in the “tiny city” for over 20 years. Growing up, all my friends and I could think to do on the weekends was cruise around town or walk around Wal-Mart (yes, we really did that for “fun”). As I’ve grown older, I have come to love and appreciate my hometown and all it has to offer. I have decided to explore Effingham in search of things to do, places to visit or things that are just plain cool in a quest to share with others what Effingham truly has to offer.

Leave a Reply

