Book Goals

In life, everyone makes goals for what they want their careers, families and personal life to look like. I think it would be fun to make a list of goals of books and types of books I want to read before I die.

Here are some starting points I came up with:

Infinite Jest by David Foster Wallace

Screen shot 2016-12-12 at 5.24.15 AM.png

I would love to conquer this book. I like Wallace’s writing style from what I have seen of it and he is a very respected and beloved writer I would love to know more about.

Ulysses (or anything by James Joyce)

Screen shot 2016-12-12 at 5.25.56 AM.png

Joyce is notorious for being extremely confusing and for people not knowing what the hell he is talking about. (Even those who claim they do probably don’t. Just kidding). To peel back the layers to get to what he is really saying would be interesting.

More non-fiction

Screen shot 2016-12-12 at 5.28.38 AM.png

I read a lot of literary fiction, and I love it,but I think it would be good to expand my horizons with some non-fiction, to learn about things that actually happened.

These links show some lists I might want to tackle whenever I have time. No pressure, but to read the same things as these authors would be pretty cool!

https://www.brainpickings.org/2016/01/04/with-hemingway-arnold-samuelson-writing/

https://www.brainpickings.org/2015/01/06/joan-didion-favorite-books-reading-list/

http://mentalfloss.com/article/64532/21-famous-authors-and-their-favorite-books

Leave a Reply

