Election Coverage

My day started out at 5:30 a.m. on Election Day. I wanted to get to the polls bright and early to interview people there.

I ended up getting a little bit of a late start, as my ride and photographer extraordinaire was late. However, I ended up getting what I needed by going around to different precincts and asking them about voter turnout and asking people what they thought about when voting.

I went all over Charleston, with Molly and on my own. In the end, I was a little surprised by what I found, as I saw that voter turnout was large, but everyone was dissatisfied with the two main candidates.

http://www.dailyeasternnews.com/2016/11/09/high-turnout-for-charleston-precincts/

After that, I was up with the rest of the Daily Eastern News staff, keeping a close eye on results as they came in. We used the Coles County Clerk’s website, social media and reputable news sites with vote maps to keep us and our readers updated. We always verified our results from at least a couple sources.

At the end of the night, we were able to uses AP wire for bigger races and our own reporting for a local perspective.

 

screen-shot-2016-12-09-at-12-40-15-am

PC: Molly Dotson | The Daily Eastern News

This is the picture we posted on Facebook after Donald Trump was announced as the president-elect.

 

 

Leave a Reply

