Cooking in College | Meal options, snacks for Finals Week

Finals week is approaching. I can already tell because I’m spending 10 plus hours a day in class or the library finishing up papers/projects. And it’s taking a toll on my body. I’m worn down, and although it’s a combination of things, running on one meal and numerous cups of coffee isn’t doing me any favors.

Take your nutrition seriously this time of year. It’s important for your brain and body to be fueled during the crunch time of the semester.

I get it, you’re busy. This is why I listed some meals and snacks that you can bring with you or are easily accessible on any campus. Make them the night before and package them so all you have to do is take a to-go container out the door with you.

 

1. Trail Mix with Walnuts

Walnuts look like a brain, so it’s only fitting that it helps with memory, too. Walnuts are not my favorite, but I mix them with others, such as peanuts and almonds to make it more appetizing. Want to sweeten the deal? Add dried blueberries for double the brain power.

2. Celery with peanut butter

This duo is both good for fighting off hunger. The celery has antioxidants and is full of vitamins to help keep you healthy. I like mine with peanut butter because the added fats will help balance your sugar levels, making sure you won’t spike and crash.

3. Salads/subs with leafy greens

These next couple of weeks are the most stressful, so it makes sense you want to grab some comfort food. However, that cheeseburger or any other greasy food will not help you in the long run. Fried food always leave me worn down, and I can’t spare 5 minutes these weeks. I opt for salads with dark green leaves. If salads aren’t your thing, try adding a lot of veggies on your sub sandwich.

4. Water

Okay, so this isn’t a meal whatsoever, but staying hydrated is super important. Bring a water bottle in addition to your morning coffee mug with you to campus. Have one cup of coffee, and about 8 times the amount of water.

Hang in there, and good luck with finals!

Leave a Reply

