Setting Sprays: Buy or Bye?

Too good to be true? Makeup brands have created a new product that you think you need, but do you really? They’re called setting sprays – they claim with one spray, makeup will look “just applied” for up to sixteen hours. I myself have fallen victim to this magic water. I used to dowse my skin in Urban Decay’s All-Nighter Setting Spray with oil control – I even bought it in the travel size to put in my purse. I have an OILY t-zone, and I find every setting spray I have used enhances my pores and enlarges them. If you put a little powder on your t-zone after you spray, it’ll stay on all day.

These are the setting sprays I have tried and have gotten to work with my oily skin.

  1. Urban Decay All Nighter Long-Lasting Makeup Setting Spray – This groundbreaking, clinically tested formula is suitable for all skin types and features patented Temperature Control Technology. It actually lowers the temperature of your makeup to keep foundation, eyeshadow, blush, and concealer in place—even in hot and humid or cold and windy conditions. The result? Smoother-looking skin and vibrant makeup that lasts all day (or night) without melting, cracking, fading, or settling into fine lines.

  2. Supergood! Defense Refresh Setting Mist SPF 50 – My mom actually recommended this product to me. The formula is enlivened with an invigorating essence of antioxidant-rich rosemary to help improve the complexion and soothe inflammation. The formula includes a unique makeup setting ingredient that acts by creating a sheer shield, which dries quickly about five seconds after application.

Check out my previous blogs on setting powders to see what products I recommend for setting the t-zone with.

Leave a Reply

