Cooking in College |Vegan Chipolte @ Home

In my university town, there is no Chipotle for 45 miles. Luckily, we do have a Mexican-style restaurant, but if it’s not Chipotle, I wonder why bother?

I’ve found a love for Mexican food, and what I like about these style of restaurants is the freshness of the ingredients. You can get the same style of Chipotle (and actually fresher!) by buying the ingredients and assembling it yourself.

I am not a vegan, but I like getting the vegan bowl. The assembly time is much faster when there is no protein to cook, but you could cook in bulk and keep it on hand for the week.

Here’s what I use. Almost all can be storebought

-Lettuce

-Rice (There is really good ReadyRice now, with only 1:30 in the microwave. You can also by dry rice and cook it yourself)

-Beans of your choice (I prefer black beans)

– Tomatoes

-Salsa (I buy my favorite, but you can make your own)

-Avocados

I like the avocados without making it guacamole, but you can make your own as well. If you want a burrito, buy a tortilla and watch how the pros put in as much good food as possible.

After I cook the rice and beans separately, it’s really just assembling the food. I start with the lettuce to fill it up more, then rice, beans, tomatoes, salsa, and diced avocado.

It might not be Chipolte’s level of yummy, but it is cheaper and healthier. Each item was approximately $1 or under, and the items make more than one serving.

 

Leave a Reply

