Listening to books? What?

When most people hear about audiobooks they are skeptical. I used to be. In highschool I read religiously, but today I simply don’t have the time. However, I still love stories. Recently, I’ve started to listen instead, and take it from me it’s worth a try. Audiobooks allow you to experience your favorite stories in entirely different ways. Emotion, pacing, and diction all change. You feel the characters in a different way, you experience the emotion in a readers voice directly.

Recently, I read Stephen King’s 11/22/63, and it was great. I listened to it, and it was phenomenal. The book gains an entirely new aspect when listened to. The pacing improves. The creeping sense of dread and inevitability is enhanced. The characters are richer, Craig Wasson brings the era to life.

The book itself is a masterful example of both historical fiction, and Stephen Kings amazing ability as a writer. This thriller starts slow and builds to become one of the most epic stories I’ve read to date. As a fan of King I can say with confidence that this is among his best works. Anyone interested in audiobooks, King, or the Kennedy assassination should pick this up, and experience a unique and compelling perspective on this famous event. And with Hulu picking up the series it’s a great time to check it out!

Leave a Reply

