Introduction and First Blog Post

My name is Jeff Coy and I’m a senior at Eastern Illinois University majoring in General Studies. I have two minors in Pre-Law and in Journalism. For my Introduction to Multimedia Journalism class this semester, I’ve created a blog writing about legal issues as my chosen topic. I’m to find news on this topic through Twitter.

KCCI News of Des Moines, Iowa tweeted a brief article about Fox News anchor, Harris Faulkner suing Hasbro for more than $5 million over a toy hamster that shares her name and slightly resembles her facial features. Faulkner is a known anchor who has worked with Fox for many years. She states the toy company has wrongfully appropriated her name and persona with its plastic Harris Faulkner hamster in the “Littlest Pet Shop” line. The toy’s physical appearance has a complexion and eye shape similar to Faulkner. The law suit states the company’s portrayal of her as a rodent is insulting.

I’ve only read into this single article about the case. I’m wondering what the intentions of Hasbro was. Were they using her appearance and likeliness for profit due to her popularity as an anchor? Or were they purposely trying to insult Faulkner? Is it a coincidence the doll shares her name and appearance? Many would probably argue it is doubtful of any coincidence considering the anchor is known in her area. I personally feel it was a clear insult and intent to poke fun at Faulkner. There is a huge possibility of Faulkner winning the case with the information given in the article. However, I still haven’t read the toy company’s side of the story.

Picture from NBC News

Leave a Reply

