JOU 3002-01

Student blogging from Charleston, Ill.

The Best Cold Weather Sandwich

Certain foods just taste better when it’s cold out. So when Fall sets in and the colder weather approaches, my cravings tend to changed. For example, chili. I’m a huge fan of chili; always have been, always will be. However, when July rolls around and its 132 degrees outside, a hot bowl of chili doesn’t really jump out to me as a nice snack.

But when the cold whether comes along, bring on all of the hot food! Now I already mentioned that I love chili. But that’s not my favorite thing to eat when it’s cold outside. That honor goes to the tuna melt. I’m sure a few people will be scratching their heads at this one. A tuna melt? Really? Yes! The best thing about a tuna melt is its diversity. There’s many different ways you can prepare it.

What I like to do is take a single can of white albacore tuna (in water), and drain it. Then, I put the tuna into a bowl, and mix it with a tablespoon of mayonaise, a tablespoon of relish and two table spoons of mustard. After I mix all of it thoroughly, I cook it in a small pan on the stove. You have to cook the tuna by itself first because, if you didn’t, the bread and cheese of the sandwich would be warm, but the tuna would be room temperature.

So after the tuna is cooked thoroughly, I butter two slices of bread. I put one side down in a small pan with two slices of cheddar cheese on top of it. After that I scoop on the cooked tuna mixture on top of the cheese (the hot tuna helping melt the cheese), and then place the second slice of bread on top, butter facing me. Then I wait until each side of the bread is a darker shade of brown, and the cheese is nice and melted.

This sandwich can go with anything: a bowl of soup, a bowl of chili, or even by itself. It’s one of the best things to eat when the weather is getting a little cold outside.

Happy Eating!

Jon Roemer

One comment on “The Best Cold Weather Sandwich

  1. Pingback: Hot Tuna Hero | familyrecipebooks

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on October 7, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

