JOU 3002-01

Student blogging from Charleston, Ill.

Melted Crayon Art

Melted crayon art is everywhere on Pinterest. I have seen so many variations of this project, yet they are basically the same thing. All you need is a canvas board, some crayons, a hot glue gun and a hair dryer to melt the crayons. This project seems more advanced because it has a silhouette to it, which would require an extra step and perhaps be a little harder to do.  I really like this spin on the classic melted crayon art.   There really are so many different versions you could do and you can use any colors you want to! I haven’t tried this project yet, but I would really like to do the “classic version” but maybe try shades of blue and turquoise together.

I really want to try this project.  It seems easy enough, but I don’t know how messy it would be. I would probably need to lay some newspapers down under the canvas in case the crayon drips off, which is something that would happen to me. I tend to make messes when it comes to crafts and such. You could really get a creative as you want with this project. If you don’t like the idea of the crayons being glued to the canvas, I think you can glue them to a sheet of paper and just let the wax drip onto the canvas. I’ve seen Crayola crayons only for this project. I know that brand works really well and is always reliable and good quality. I don’t think I would use the cheaper brands because they don’t work very well. I can’t wait to actually try this craft! Hopefully it ends up looking really cool and doesn’t turn into a complete disaster like this!

Melted Crayon Art

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 24, 2012 by in Uncategorized.
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

