JOU 3002-01

Student blogging from Charleston, Ill.

My attempt to (kind of) eat healthy

So this year I’ve made a promise to myself that I will try to eat healthier, (what happened to that promise of a 4.0 GPA? Oops….) and it hasn’t been that easy to start. Being away at college gives me a lot of free time, and a lot less money. And I’ll tell you something about myself…I love to eat. It’s a love so strong that it’s amazing how I’m not morbidly obese by now. So this eating healthier idea will be a bit of a challenge. The first step I’m taking is to eat more food at home instead of gorging myself at the local BBQ joint. I’m also trying to eat more meals throughout the day. I have a bad habit of trying to save money by not eating until 3 in the afternoon (hey it’s currently noon and I haven’t eaten yet, I doing it again!) and then eating a meal so large that I don’t have to eat dinner.

So since I’m eating at home more often, grocery shopping has become a very valuable time for me. I’ve always enjoyed grocery shopping ever since I was a little kid. When I was in High School my Mom would let me do the grocery shopping because she has the remarkable talent of spending $100 at the grocery store without bringing back actual food (C’mon Mom, a growing boy can’t live off of almonds and grapes!!). When I used to grocery shop, I would pretty much load up on frozen pizzas, pizza rolls, chips and pop tarts. When I went to college and gained the infamous Freshman Fifteen, I realized that I had to stop. So now my fridge contains things like deli meat, carrots, fruit and spinach. My cupboards, instead of having Doritos, Nutty Bars and Pop Tarts, now have Triscuits, Chex Mix and whole grain pasta. I cannot tell you how difficult it was to walk down the freezer section and not buy the mega pack of Pizza Rolls. But I guess we all have to grow up sometime, right?

However, my attempt to eat healthier is being helped by my love to cook. Ive always loved to cook, even since I was a little boy. Now I’m no Bobby Flay in the kitchen, but I can usually get through making a meal without burning my apartment complex to the ground. So in this attempt, I’ve started to look for recipes that will make eating home cooked¬†meals more enjoyable. So take a look at this recipe I found on the internet from the blog PasstheSushi.com.¬†

Pulled Pork Cornbread Waffles

It’s a recipe for pulled pork and cornbread waffles. I haven’t attempted to make this yet, because frankly it’s a little intimidating. It takes two of the things I love the most: pulled pork and cornbread (seriously, I will eat ANYTHING if it comes with cornbread) and made an incredible looking dish out of it.

Happy Eating,

Jon Roemer

Leave a Reply

Information

This entry was posted on September 5, 2012 by in Uncategorized and tagged , , , , , , , , .
Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

